Australian Society for Antimicrobials
  Become a Member


ASA National AST Committee

The Australian Society for Antimicrobials (ASA) was formed in March 1999 to facilitate the acquisition and dissemination of knowledge in the field of antimicrobials. Society membership covers a diverse background of professions interested in the study of antimicrobials including clinical microbiologists and infectious diseases physicians, respiratory and ICU physicians, medical and non-medical microbiologists and scientists, pharmacists, veterinarians, undergraduate and postgraduate students, and industry representatives from pharmaceutical and diagnostic/research biomedical companies.
The Society conducts national annual scientific meetings and has hosted the Asian Pacific Conference on Clinical Microbiology  and Infectious Diseases and the International Symposium on Staphylococci and Staphylococcal Infection. It actively supports research into antimicrobials and antimicrobial resistance.

ASA National EUCAST AST Committee

Established in mid-2011 to provide expert advice and further the cause of skill development in the area of antimicrobial susceptibility testing, the ASA National EUCAST AST Committee (previously known as the National AST Committtee) is the affiliated national committee within the European Committee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing (EUCAST) network (


Chair:John Turnidge, The University of Adelaide, SA

Ian Abbott, The Alfred Hospital, Vic

Jan Bell, ACSQHC, SA

Sharon Chen, Westmead Hospital, NSW

Linda Chew, Royal Melbourne Hosital, Vic

Louise Cooley, Royal Hobart Hospital, Tas
Geoffrey Coombs, Murdoch University, WA

Fiona Courtney, John Hunter Hospital, NSW

Denise Daley, AGAR Scientist, WA

Shelanah Fernando, Concord Hospital, NSW 
Narelle George, Pathology Queensland, QLD

Maryza Graham, Monash Health, Vic

Sarah Kidd, SA Pathology, SA

Stephen Kidd, University of Adelaide, SA
Graeme Nimmo, Pathology Queensland, QLD
Jennifer Robson, Sullivan Nicolaides Pathology, QLD

Norelle Sherry, University of Melbourne, Vic

Rick Streitberg, Monash Health, Vic

Terms of reference include

  • Promote EUCAST as the preferred method for phenotypic antimicrobial susceptibility testing
  • Provide advice to EUCAST Steering Committee on items for General Consultation (
  • Assist laboratories in transitioning from CLSI or CDS to EUCAST methods and breakpoints (where available)
  • Provide a representative to the General Committee of EUCAST
  • Provide laboratory support to EUCAST development activities when requested, within existing resources
  • Provide expert advice to laboratories and other stakeholders Australia-wide on all aspects of phenotypic susceptibility testing
  • Provide advice to device manufacturers on preferred testing ranges and other aspects of devices and supplies as requested or required for the Australian environment
  • Run educational workshops on basic and advanced aspects of susceptibility testing
  • Liaise with other international standards setting bodies such as CLSI and ISO


Initially, the NAC will meet face-to-face once yearly in conjunction with the ASA national annual scientific meeting with work being undertaken in between meeting via email and teleconference.

For further information, please contact:
Prof. John Turnidge