National AST Committee

The Australian Society for Antimicrobials (ASA) was formed in March 1999 to facilitate the acquisition and dissemination of knowledge in the field of antimicrobials. Society membership covers a diverse background of professions interested in the study of antimicrobials including clinical microbiologists and infectious diseases physicians, respiratory and ICU physicians, medical and non-medical microbiologists and scientists, pharmacists, veterinarians, undergraduate and postgraduate students, and industry representatives from pharmaceutical and diagnostic/research biomedical companies.

The Society conducts national annual scientific meetings and has hosted the Asian Pacific Conference on Clinical Microbiology  and Infectious Diseases and the International Symposium on Staphylococci and Staphylococcal Infection. It actively supports research into antimicrobials and antimicrobial resistance.

ASA National EUCAST AST Committee

Established in mid-2011 to provide expert advice and further the cause of skill development in the area of antimicrobial susceptibility testing, the ASA National EUCAST AST Committee (previously known as the National AST Committtee) is the affiliated national committee within the European Committee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing (EUCAST) network (




John Turnidge, The University of Adelaide, SA

Ian Abbott, The Alfred Hospital, Vic
Jan Bell, ACSQHC, SA
Sharon Chen, Westmead Hospital, NSW
Linda Chew, Royal Melbourne Hosital, Vic
Louise Cooley, Royal Hobart Hospital, Tas
Geoffrey Coombs, Murdoch University, WA
Fiona Courtney, John Hunter Hospital, NSW
Denise Daley, AGAR Scientist, WA
Shelanah Fernando, Concord Hospital, NSW
Narelle George, Pathology Queensland, QLD
Maryza Graham, Monash Health, Vic
Sarah Kidd, SA Pathology, SA
Stephen Kidd, University of Adelaide, SA
Graeme Nimmo, Pathology Queensland, QLD
Jennifer Robson, Sullivan Nicolaides Pathology, QLD
Norelle Sherry, University of Melbourne, Vic
Rick Streitberg, Monash Health, Vic